Do you want to go to an English-speaking university? At least, you are considering an internship in an English-speaking country. If not, would you like to assess your English language level and make it stand out on the job market? Stress no more, discover in this article the different types of tests available in English.

American tests

In the United States, there are two types of tests to assess the level of English. They are Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) and Test of English for International Communication (TOEIC).

Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)

TOEFL is a test that the American organization ETS applies to students or candidates in exam conditions. The ultimate goal of this test is to evaluate their level of language knowledge. It is a test that all candidates must take before being admitted to American and Canadian universities. It is available on the internet.

The assessment takes into account different skills including comprehension and expression, in written and oral form. To pass this test, you must score 90 points in the online version called IBT and 110 points in the offline version. In either case, a certain amount of money is charged for the test. You can find out more here via TOEFL.

Tests of English for International Communication (TOEIC)

The TOEIC is a test also given by the American organization ETS to professionals from various backgrounds.  The purpose of this test is to evaluate the language skills of professionals in different fields. It is therefore a test issued only to professionals working in companies. It is very common in France.

The test is issued in three versions, namely the Bridge version, the listening and reading version and the speaking and writing version. These different versions summarize the evaluation of the professional degree through a questionnaire, comprehension and expression. The amount paid for the test depends on the version chosen and the test lasts two years. Find out more about the TOEIC here.

British tests

These tests fit into two categories namely; the International English Language Testing System (IELTS) and the assessment tests organized by the University of Cambridge.

International English Language Testing System (IELTS)

IELTS is a test organized by the British Council and the University of Cambridge during the examinations. It is a test set up to enable access to universities or to find a job in the United Kingdom, Australia. Such a test equally helps you obtain a visa for Canada, the United States, the United Kingdom and of course Australia.

IELTS is only available in two versions: academic and general. It does not have a validity period. In fact, it consists of evaluating comprehension and expression in both oral and written form.  The participants pay a certain amount for the test, after which they obtain scores from 1 to 9. Read more about IELTS here.

Assessment tests organized by the University of Cambridge

The University of Cambridge offers several assessment tests which are organized based on age, level and specialty. The fame of this university raises no doubt on the tests they offer. The certificates are recognized all over the world. It has six levels graded from A1 to C2.

At the end of the exams, different certificates are awarded to candidates who make it. These certificates are First Certificate in English (FCE), Certificate in Advanced in English (CAE), and Certificate of Proficiency in English (CPE) respectively. This type of assessment also requires a certain amount of money. For more information, click on Cambridge exams.

All in all, international tests are available and easy to access by anyone anywhere in the world. Various of them exist. Depending on your preference and pace, you improve your level of English to prepare for an English test.

About Author